Rays edge Yankees

June 11, 2009


Huntington Valley Little League

Major Division championship

Rays 4, Yankees 3: Ryan Smith was key in pitching for the Rays, finishing the game with an acrobatic catch to seal the victory. Tyler Murray had his 15th home run of the season. Members of the Rays include Kobie Anton, Jake Barton, Tommy Blood, Tucker de Camp, Michael Eliot, Nicholas Fourcrier, Connor Hayes, Coleman McGee, Tyler Murray, Zack Pannell, Jacob Pauley and Ryan Smith. The coach is Ken Murray, assisted by Rob de Camp and John Blood.

Robinwood Little League

Major Division Play-off


Blue Jays 3, Phillies 1: The Robinwood Major Phillies and Blue Jays finished with equal records in the second half and were forced to play an extra playoff game. The game was quite a pitching duel, but Nolan Winks hit a three-run home run as the Blue Jays upending the Phillies 3-1.

The Phillies scored their lone run in the first inning, with Brandon Laszlo hitting a triple and then scoring on Kai Ross’ hit. Blue Jays pitcher Winks did not allow another hit the rest of the game, striking out 13.

The Blue Jays had two runners successfully reach base on walks in the third inning, and were losing 1-0 when Winks hit his three-run homer. Winks had the only two hits the Phillies pitchers allowed in the game. The Phillies’ Ross struck out 12 batters in his four innings of work and Danny Jasperson pitched the last two innings and struck out four Blue Jays. Nolan Winks threw a complete game two-hitter and struck out 13 Phillies batters.

Both teams now advance to the District 62 Tournament of Champions.

Seaview Little League

Minor B Division

Phillies go undefeated: The Seaview Little League Phillies Minor B team went undefeated with a 19-0 season. They are headed to the Tournament of Champions with Coaches Rick Amadril and Brain Semmelroth. Theplayers are Danny Amadril, Aidan Brown, Michael Chadwick, Kyle Collins, Luke Jacobs, Parker Jepson, Michael Kennedy, Meric Mednick, Zachary Mustafa, Henry Mitchell, Randy Scheid and Andy Ross.


South Huntington

Beach Fast-pitch

Bomb Squad wins title: The South Huntington Beach 8-and-under gold All-Star team traveled to the Westlake-Agoura Hills softball tournament the weekend ending May 31 and returned with the title.

Over the two days of competition, the Bomb Squad demonstrated their well-rounded game with good defense, solid pitching and explosive bats. They outscored their opponents 40-9 over four games. On Saturday, they took two games by defeating El Rio, 10-1, and Irvine, 9-5.

As the No. 1 seed for Sunday’s competition, they opened the day by defeating El Rio again, by a score of 13-1.

In the championship game, SHB took on defending 8U state champs and tournament host’s, WAGS Thunder. The Bomb Squad broke open a 4-2 game in the sixth inning with a two-out, four-run rally to win the final game 8-2.

The South Huntington Beach Girls Fastpitch Softball 8-U Gold All-Star team is comprised of: Abby Bautzer, Allee Bunker, Grace Caswell, Donna Friedman, Giovanna Liggett, Penelope Russ, DeLaney Sheppard, JacLynn Sheppard, Casey Sommer, Lindsey Sparks, Taylore Zimolzak and Casey Zschach. The head coach is Andy Zschach and assistant coaches are Jay Russ and Chris Sommer.

Huntington Beach Independent Articles Huntington Beach Independent Articles