Favreau takes top offensive honor

January 05, 2011

Chase Favreau earned the Offensive Player of the Year honor and two of his Edison teammates landed two other big awards on the 2010 All-Sunset League Football Team.

Favreau, a junior quarterback, was one of eight players to land key honors. Edison senior Charles Burks was named Defensive Lineman of the Year and Edison junior Gavin Perdomo was named Kicker of the Year.

The 2010 All-Sunset team is headed by senior Kyle Zottneck of league champion Los Alamitos. Zottneck, a two-way lineman and long snapper, was named Most Valuable Player.


Several players from Edison, Fountain Valley, Huntington Beach and Marina were also selected to the all-league team.


2010 All-Sunset League Football Team

Most Valuable Player: Kyle Zottneck (Los Alamitos, Sr.)

Offensive Player of the Year: Chase Favreau (Edison, Jr.)

Defensive Player of the Year: Andrew Faraimo (Los Alamitos, Sr.)

Offensive Back of the Year: Richard Turner (Los Alamitos, Sr.)

Defensive Back of the Year: Parker Norton (Newport Harbor, Sr.)

Offensive Lineman of the Year: Andrew Main/Kent Collins (Los Alamitos, Sr.)

Defensive Lineman of the Year: Charles Burks (Edison, Sr.)

Kicker of the Year: Gavin Perdomo (Edison, Jr.)


First Team

Edison: Troy Baljeu (wide receiver, Jr.); Robert Mase (defensive end, Sr.); Nick Masaniai (running back/defensive back, Jr.); Eric Zumwalt (defensive back, Sr.); Kyle Finney (offensive lineman, Sr.); Dejean King (defensive back, Sr.).

Fountain Valley: Courtland Drummond (linebacker/running back, Sr.); Sean Myers (wide receiver/defensive back, Jr.); Wyatt Christensen (wide receiver/defensive back, Soph.).

Huntington Beach: Luke Holler (defensive line, Sr.); Ramon Vargas (wide receiver, Jr.); Zach Hadlock (defensive back, Jr.); Mike Chislock (quarterback, Jr.).

Marina: Joey Livingsten (linebacker, Sr.); Harley Shoffner (linebacker, Sr.).

Los Alamitos: Ben Wysocki, offensive tackle, Sr.); Derrick Laureano (offensive guard, Sr.); Aaron Davis (linebacker, Sr.); Cody Paul (running back, Jr.); Nick Richardson (running back, Sr.); Glenn Miller (defensive end, Sr.); Trey Bennett (linebacker, Sr.).

Newport Harbor: JB Salem (defensive line, Sr.); Ryan Andrews (running back, Sr.); Kellon Truxton (wide receiver, Sr.); Blair Luchs (linebacker, Sr.); Buzzy Yokoyama (running back, Sr.).


Second Team

Huntington Beach Independent Articles Huntington Beach Independent Articles