Edison team is charged up

Nine starters from 2011 Sunset League championship team will return. The season begins Aug. 31.

August 08, 2012|By Mike Sciacca
  • Elijah Herrera, a second-team all-league running back last year, returns for his senior year and is a key figure in Edison’s backfield. The Chargers begin preparations Monday for the upcoming 2012 season.
Elijah Herrera, a second-team all-league running back… (SCOTT SMELTZER,…)

It was still several weeks away from the start of the 2012 prep football season, but in early July, the Edison High football team got a big boost when it completed summer ball by winning its own Bash at the Beach passing league tournament.

The Chargers went undefeated at the 16-team event and hope to use that summer finish as a springboard to a big fall. Head Coach Dave White has nine returning starters back from a 2011 team that last year went undefeated in claiming the Sunset League championship. He lost to graduation in June several talented pieces from last year's team, including the 2011 Sunset League MVP (quarterback Chase Favreau) and SL Defensive Lineman of the Year (Dehvon Brown), but has several all-league returning players back on the roster.

Stepping in to lead the team at quarterback this fall is strong-armed senior Alek Torgersen who had a big summer and guided the Chargers to the Bash at the Beach title. A talented running game brings balance to the offense.


White, who also serves as the team's offensive coordinator, begins his 27th year as head coach and is closing in on the 200-wins mark. He brings a career record at his alma mater of 197-103-3 into the season.

The Chargers, along with the rest of the Sunset League football teams, begin competing in the CIF Southwest Conference this fall. Sunset football teams previously competed in the Pac-5 Division.


Edison Chargers

League: Sunset

CIF Division: Southwest

Head Coach: Dave White (27th year)

Coaching Staff: Rick Justice (defensive coordinator); Harry Schmidt (offensive line); Dave Grace (quarterbacks); Mike Walters (running backs/linebackers); Ryan Tombrello (defensive backs); John Donnelly (defensive line); Buddy Noble (defensive ends); Jesse Sapolu (offensive line); Marty Burns (offensive line); Don "Mo" Time (offensive line); Al Granado (offensive line); Dave Yonts (kickers); Mike Rivera (wide receivers); Earnie Sagiao (linebackers); Fred Marquez (defensive backs).

Start of Fall Camp: Monday

2011 record: 8-3

2011 league finish: Champion (5-0)

2011 CIF results: Reached first-round Pac-5 Division

Returning starters: 4 offense/5 defense

Type of offense: Spread

Type of defense: 4-3

Key losses: Chase Favreau (QB, 2011 Sunset League MVP); Alex Kircher (OL, all-league); Dehvon Brown (2011 Sunset League Defensive Lineman of the Year); Bryce Campbell (LB, all-league).

Huntington Beach Independent Articles Huntington Beach Independent Articles